Of being brave in Singapore

So after four days of not doing anything in Singapore, my cousins, uncle and aunt all told me to not to rely on them and to go out and explore the city on my own! Best advice ever!

Every morning then, I would be dropped off at the metro station (MRT) and would be asked to meet them at the same spot for a pick up later. Now in India, I would never travel by the metro alone, because I have managed to get onto wrong trains numerous times! I declare myself as ‘geographically challenged’. Somehow, in Singapore, I rode the metro like a boss! For a person who has never set foot in a bus in Pune, I hopped in and out off buses in Singapore, as if, I had been doing it for years. Other tourists often asked me for help with the bus numbers and routes at the bus interchange. So the sense of accomplishment of getting around on my own was pretty high!

IMG_4976

I can remember, the lady at the Orchid Gardens and the girl at the souvenir shop of the Jurong bird park, calling me brave or adventurous! The Chinese girls whom I met at the beach thought I was courageous! They thought I was a backpacker (which I wasn’t). The Indonesian girl whom I met at Sentosa, suddenly asked me, “Are you not afraid?” Surprised,I asked her, “Afraid of what?” When she could not answer, due to her lack of English vocabulary, I prompted, “Do you mean afraid of travelling alone?” She nodded.

I then answered, that I found Singapore to be a very safe and a tourist friendly place and I never really felt like I was alone or could end up in a problem. The people were friendly, always helpful with directions. One night, I had boarded a bus at 10 p.m. and for a very long time, I was the only passenger in the bus. Now this is something, which I would probably never do in India. Also I wouldn’t advice anyone to board an empty bus at late night, in any country. I told the Indonesian girl, that I probably wouldn’t travel alone like this in India. The promptness with which I said the last statement, surprised me a little and saddened me.

I never actually felt brave while doing these things alone, even though it felt nice to be thought of being so by other people. Rather than feeling courageous, I felt free. Whatever the feeling was, it was positive and it was new. I became rather philosophical and while I explored Singapore, I found me.

Though, now I wish, I’d have rather found me a guy πŸ˜‰

More and hopefully better stories and pictures coming soon πŸ™‚ Stay tuned guys!

4 comments

  1. gypsysoul.. · January 18, 2014

    I’ve always wanted to go travel alone πŸ˜› right now my achievement is as far as going to the gym in our new neighborhood hahah.. good job though πŸ™‚
    looking forward to reading more stories and achievements πŸ˜€

    • Nea · January 19, 2014

      Thanks πŸ™‚
      One place I have not dared to set foot into is the Gym! Kudos to you πŸ˜€

  2. khaplimihir · January 24, 2014

    now thats a heck of picture…..

Leave a Reply!

