Of being scared in Singapore

I could not believe my luck. After four overcast rainy days, here was sunshine and I decided to head over toSentosa.

Soon the pleasant morning sunshine had turned into a horrifying heat and I started looking for Air Conditioned attractions on the Island. One of them was- Images of Singapore. Now TripAdvisor promised, this museum to be, a wonderful cultural experience. I entered.

IMG_5992
At the beginning, there was a small show about the Four Winds Trading Company.

IMG_6002
Significant moments in the history of Singapore were depicted beautifully.

IMG_6004
The museum had designed some simple yet intricate scenes like these living quarters of Chinese immigrant workers.

IMG_6014
While I was looking at these Chinese letter-writers, a family of four was walking around nearby. The father was trying to make his older girl understand the diverse cultures of Singapore. The girl, obviously disinterested, kept prancing around and saying, “I am bored. Can we go now?”. Her father brought her next to me, to look at the letter writers, and while he looked at them with awe, she commented, “Whoa! They are sooo creepy Dad.”

IMG_6031
I sighed, and walked away from the kid who didn’t appreciate art.

The next room seemed to be more colorful. I heard a tour guide, explaining wedding customs from different cultures, in Singapore, to a group of tourists.

IMG_6045
I realized, that it was an Indian family and they had started describing Indian traditions to the tour guide, as they approached the Indian wedding scene. I smiled and took a detour to a smaller room. When I re entered the wedding scenes, I noticed some music playing, which I hadn’t earlier because of their loud laughter. It felt peaceful.

I suddenly looked at the watch and heard my stomach rumble in hunger. In search of a way out, I climbed up a flight of stairs. It was a nursery with fake Japanese babies. I climbed the stairs back down.

Now I had reached a place, which held scenes from celebrations of different festivals. Lights of different shapes, sizes and colors kept blinking at me. I kept walking, in search of a door. The Indian family was now nowhere to be seen and neither was the smaller family of four.

IMG_6048
To my right was this. I kept thinking, man the kid was right! This is downright creepy.

IMG_6050
And next came this. The music had changed. The flames of the coals glowered. I was all alone, with freaky figures pretending to be humans.

If there was a time to get scared to the bones, this was it.

I madly looked around, for some human voice, for some kind of help. I had to escape. I kept walking through the same hallways, in vain. I saw a red sign, that read ‘Fire Exit- For emergencies only’. There was a door below it. I ran up to the exit. I pulled the handle and stepped out into broad daylight.

The Sun, whom I had been essentially hiding from, greeted me warmly.

8 comments

  1. ishwaratre · January 19, 2014

    wow
    ……….

    • Nea · January 20, 2014

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. PsiFiGal · January 22, 2014

    That does sound scary, it’s never fun to get lost, and in a strange land even scarier! I have to agree with the girl, the exhibits look kind of creepy to me.

    • Nea · January 22, 2014

      So did I, in the end! πŸ˜€

  3. Shailesh Keskar · January 22, 2014

    Truly a Marvellous Blogpost. Each one gets better than the preceeding one!

    • Nea · January 22, 2014

      Thanks a lot! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Gaurab · January 28, 2014

    As I read, I felt like I was travelling with you the entire time. Wonderful post, there was so much of art and culture all around. πŸ™‚

    • Nea · January 29, 2014

      Wow! I feel so good reading that you were travelling with me. Very encouraging. Thanks loads!

Leave a Reply!

