The Red Sky

6580245637_a13d8827da_b-001
I took this picture one evening, from the balcony, of a place, I used to live in. It had been an average something day, I was immersed in my own thoughts, bringing in the wash that had been hung to dry. I looked up and saw this. I had never seen the sky like this.In awe, I dropped the clothes, ran back in and brought out my camera to capture this.

Ever since that day, I made it a point, to look up. Every evening, on returning to the place which had become home, I would rush out to the balcony and check out the sky.

IMG_7807
That place, I realized, had a rather depressing view. From the second floor, I was stuck, looking at the tower. So on duller evenings, I would sit with my camera, look out for a bird or two, sometimes chat with the third floor neighbor’s baby or look at the plants in their balcony. They always had roses.

IMG_6353-003
In an episode of F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Ross tells Joey, that due to the lack of a sex life, he has been able to appreciate the finer things in life-such as the color of the sky. To which, Joey replies, “Sky is blue Ross and I had sex yesterday.” Secretly, I was searching for the red sky. It had been such a rare sight. On days like these, I knew that the sky was onto me.

IMG_0721-001
Still, I kept going. I stopped expecting a red sky. I took what I got. If I was home in the evening and if the sky looked different, I took pictures of the same frame.

IMG_6350-003
The sky did not look dramatically different everyday. Yet it wasn’t the same.

IMG_1078-001
Strangely, at times, it was a reflection of my mood.

IMG_0711
Sometimes, it just wanted me to make a hot cup of chai and sit down with my favorite book.

IMG_7715
My affair with the evening sky went on and off through four years.

IMG_1547-001
Sunshine, rain and rainbows have come and gone. The sky has remained a faithful companion to them and to me. It was time to go. I was looking for closure-one last glimpse of a red sky. Maybe orange was the new red. This was the last picture that I took. That was last summer. It’s been a late goodbye.

2 comments

  1. OrganicIsBeautiful · January 3, 2016

    Beautiful pictures 😉

Leave a Reply!

